Image of Scottieyard

Oak Hills High School graduates carry the tradition of excellence with them throughout life - in their places of work and through community involvement. As one of over 30,000 graduates, there are many opportunities for you to get involved, stay connected and support the tradition that lives inside all of us.

Our History

The Foundation was founded in September 1996 and has since funded hundreds of projects in the areas of literature, math, science, performing and visual arts and technology as well as provide support for community outreach efforts. We feel projects which enhance classroom learning are vital to the success of Oak Hills students.

The first officers of the Foundation included:

Steve Brinker, President
Jack Hoeting. Vice President
Dan Herche, Treasurer
Jill Haft, Secretary

The original mission of the Foundation was "to promote and advance educational excellence in all of its phases in the Oak Hills Local School District of Hamilton County, Ohio." During the first board meeting, July 24, 1997, the mission was changed to read, "to promote and advance educational excellence and lifelong learning through the public schools of the Oak Hills Local School District or any successor thereto.”

The stated purpose of this non-profit organization was to promote excellence in Oak Hills Schools and collaboratively with non public schools in the Oak Hills District, so that all children have the best education possible. And, to provide educational opportunities not currently available to those residing in the Oak Hills Local School District, regardless of public or private school affiliation.

Community members of the first Oak Hills Educational Foundation were:

  • Ted Price
  • Rosemary Schlacter
  • Ron Davis
  • Steve Brinker
  • Patti Brenneman
  • Tom Gerdes
  • Jack Pollock
  • Kathy Davis
  • Brett Goodson
  • Maryanne McGowan

In 2012 The Oak Hills Alumni Association merged with the Foundation a new entity was born, the organization we know today as the Oak Hills Alumni & Educational Foundation. Our board of trustees is comprised of both Oak Hills graduates and community members.

We are pleased to financially support after-school book clubs, science fairs, field trips, musicals, murals, facility enhancements, service projects and equipment needs for our students and classrooms that aren’t covered by curriculum or tax dollars.

Gray Scholarship

In 1999, the Oak Hills Educational Foundation awarded the first grants to honor the memory of William and Mildred Gray. Following the death of Mildred Gray and having no children to whom to leave his estate, William Gray decided that the award of scholarships to deserving high school students would be an appropriate way in which to see his money used. He chose Oak Hills High School as the recipient of his generosity because students would often greet him a they passed his house—a bright spot in an otherwise lonely life.

Having only a fourth grade education himself, Mr. Gray believed it important that every deserving student have a chance to attend college if so desired. Because he felt loyalty to Ohio colleges and universities, he stipulated that the scholarships in his name would be awarded only to students pursuing higher education in Ohio. Likewise, he felt that academic achievement should be only one measure of a student’s ability, and therefore insisted that other factors such as a financial need and civic and social involvement be considered of equal priority in the selection process.

Since its inception, the Gray Scholarship program under the auspices of the Oak Hills Educational Foundation (now the Oak Hills Alumni & Educational Foundation) has awarded more than $311,000 in scholarship money to graduating seniors at Oak Hills High School.

Gray Scholars

Recent Gray Scholarship recipients include:

Sydney Applegate, Alex Bertke, Samantha Bigner, Hannah Cox, Sierra Dance, Dylan Hoy, Alexi Lepof, Karli Lippert, Chloe Motz, Hannah Schiering, Kari Sexton, Emma Supe
Jennifer Argentiero, Allison Auel, Tiana Brown, Michael Buchert, Katrina Essen, Sydney Richmond 
Johnathon Adelhardt, McKenna Belmont, Genesis Finnell, Yasmine Garadah, Jennifer Keyser, Kelsey Kurre, Zachary McRae, Joshua Ward
Reilly Heinrich, Taylor Helms, Christopher Jacobs, Samantha Oakes, Gabrielle Waters
Stacy Allen, Abigail Cain, Annalise Donavan, Basma Garadah, Audrey Hamilton, Rebecca Miller, Oriana Perkins, Alaina Vinson
Ian Ashwell, Madison Conn, Korie Dunaway, Aspasia Makris, Aaron Martinez, Lorin Rogers, Samantha Kaetzel, Christopher Rosing, Rhiannon Zito